Jazz in Red

Image of the Day – Thursday, October 1, 2009

Sax Player in a small Bourbon Street Bar

Sax Player in a small Bourbon Street Bar

A few weeks ago I’d gotten off work and went to New Orleans to do some shooting. I was in the French Quarter for quite a while and made my way in and out of different bars and clubs along the way. I was enjoying the lighting I was able to shoot in using my new 50mm f/1.8 lens. At some point in the evening I stumbled into a small bar and found this fellow. He was part of a duo in a small bar. I mean a really small place. If you sat at the bar and turned around in your seat there they were playing jazz. Right there, up close and personal.

I only got a few good pictures of the duo as they weren’t very camera friendly as I recall. I would have shot more but of them but for that. They were pretty arrogant as well so that’s often a real deal killer to any kind of good shots of musicians… or anyone else for that matter. I did, however, get a few good shots under some very bad lighting conditions and today’s image is one of them.

This was shot with my Nikon D80 using a 50mm lens at f/1.8 and ISO 3200. Even such extreme settings still required a 1/25th shutter speed. Like I said, it was a very dark little bar but I was able to get the shot with a reasonable degree of clarity and detail.

~ by rfoxx on October 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
