Red Doors, Blue Shutters

Image of the Day – Saturday, September 19, 2009

Red Doors and Blue Shutters in the French Quarter - New Orleans

Red Doors and Blue Shutters in the French Quarter - New Orleans

This another photo I took last Father’s Day on a visit to the French Quarter in New Orleans. We’d been seeking out buildings and sites on the National Register of Historic Places to photograph them. I don’t recall what street this picture was taken on though it was very possibly Royal Street but don’t hold me to that. The photo sat unnoticed in my archives since early in the summer. The shot never caught my attention.

A few days ago I was doing as I sometimes do and looking through my photo archives and this shot grabbed my attention for the first time. I’ve found looking through my archives now and then almost always turns up an overlooked jewel. There are times when the shot looks like a jewel and once opened in Photoshop no matter what I do with the image it’s not the jewel I thought it was. There are other times when an image becomes something nice after sitting in my archives for several years and looked at a few dozen times. Every time I think I’ve picked my archives clean I come across something new. It’s a great case for shooting a lot when you get the chance and not worry about processing your images – the jewels will eventually be found.

~ by rfoxx on September 19, 2009.

One Response to “Red Doors, Blue Shutters”

  1. I really love this. And I couldn’t agree more with your narrative. I can’t tell you the times I’ve let photos sit thinking there wasn’t much to them and then just one day out of nowhere, suddenly as you so eloquently phrased it …a jewel. Perfect.

Leave a Reply

 
