Over The Strip

Image of the Day – Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Brandi Over The Strip in Las Vegas

Brandi Over The Strip in Las Vegas

The photograph today was taken in late December. 2006 in Las Vegas. The lovely subject is my middle daughter, Brandi. Ain’t she a cutie? The photo was shot with a Kodak 3 megapixel point-and-shoot camera. With a little Photoshop even a photo taken with an older point and shoot can be made to look pretty decent. This was the last day the camera would ever work but that’s a whole other story.

I simply adore this photograph of Brandi because she was so happy and spunky this day. Not that she’s not normally happy and spunky but she’d asked for a trip to Las Vegas for Christmas that year so she could, and I quote, “stay drunk and dressy slutty” in Las Vegas for New Year.

I do, however, have a problem with this photograph. My problem with this photograph I think is obvious… that awful metal retaining cage behind her. Taken on a foot bridge over Las Vegas Boulevard it couldn’t be helped and as luck would have it this is my favorite picture of Brandi from our trip. The traffic on The Strip in the lower left of the photo doesn’t help matters and she’s slightly off center. Like I said, I really like this shot and decided to use it as a sample of a quick fix using Adobe Photoshop for my camera club.

Below is more like what I wanted the photograph to look like. The fix was surprisingly easy and quick and completely changed the appearance of the photograph.

Modified Picture of Brandi

Modified Picture of Brandi

Notice the background has been left blurred leaving Brandi as the clear subject of the photograph. I cropped to a bust shot and thereby eliminated the camera in her hand, the Coke bottle tucked under her right arm and a lot of the background clutter. The retaining cage is still visible but far less noticeable and the eye doesn’t roam the image nearly as much as in the original.

Overall I think it was a nice improvement on a picture I’ve always liked.

~ by rfoxx on September 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
