Rock n Roll Friday Night

Image of the Day – Saturday, August 22, 2009

Drummer for Evercrest Stepping Forward to be the Front Man

Drummer for Evercrest Stepping Forward to be the Front Man

Thursday past I finally received my brand new Nikon 50mm f/1.8 lens. I’d been wanting the lens for a while but wanted to make the camera pay for the lens. A few weeks ago I shot a small wedding and earned enough for the lens and a few dollars extra. I spent yesterday afternoon hanging out with my brother Tony and we found ourselves stopping by a local watering hole called “Sparky’s”. As luck would have it a hard driving local cover band was slated for a live performance.

Tony and I stuck around and had a few beers and played a few games of pool – surprisingly I won all three games – and wait for the band to play. I had my camera and new 50mm with me and once the music started I went to my truck, grabbed my camera and started taking a few shots. The band, Evercrest, was not only receptive to me taking a few shots but were photographer friendly. The one band member I couldn’t get a shot of was the drummer as he was in the worst lighting in a horrifically lit stage area.

About midway through a set someone else took over percussion and the drummer became the front man for a few songs and that’s when I finally got a shot of the third band member. Today’s image was my favorite of the few shots I got of him.

The image was taken with my Nikon D80 and the aforementioned 50mm in RAW format. I post processed the image with Adobe Photoshop CS4 and applied Imagenomic’s Noiseware Professional then I used virtualPhotograher’s “sepia” mode. After applying the sepia filter I changed the layer to “Multiply” mode and did a few minor tweeks using a curves layer to get the result you see.

~ by rfoxx on August 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
