Passport Please

Image of the Day – Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Shannon circa 1980

Shannon circa 1980

The first permanent duty station I had in the Navy was at Oceana Naval Air Station in Virginia Beach, Virginia. Our first place of our own was just off base – so close to the air station Shannon and I used to sit on the front porch of our duplex and watch aircraft land or to “touch and goes”. Shannon at a very young age was very keen about identifying naval aircraft on sight!

We lived close enough to the base that when I had the duty photographer my ex-wife and Shannon would sometimes come visit me at the lab or bring me lunch when I had weekend duty. Sometimes I couldn’t resist taking my young daughter into the photo lab’s studio to take a few semi-candid shots of her and today’s image if just such a moment captured to film.

There was a Polaroid passport camera in the studio and the camera was capable of putting four small, passport size images on a single sheet of Polaroid “film”. Depending on how the lens was set up one could take up to four of the identical images or four individual images which is how I had it set up the day this picture was taken. I don’t know what ever became of the other images taken that day – most likely there were posted in letters to grandparents – I simply do not recall.

These two images, however, have been in a photo album side by side for many, many years. I’d be afraid to attempt to remove them from the album they’ve been there so long. The two surviving images I do have are tiny photographs of a moment long gone of my baby girl still a baby girl and capturing the funny faces and sudden changes common to a child this young. Some of my favorite photos of my daughter from that time were taken in that studio in Virginia Beach and this is two of them.

~ by rfoxx on July 29, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
