Cade’s Cove Memories

Image of the Day – Wednesday, July 15, 2009

Cade's Cove in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park

Cade's Cove in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park

My family and I went on vacation in April, 2009 to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park for our fourth visit there in the preceding eleven years and my fifth visit to the park overall. In 2000 we vacationed in the Smoky Mountains at the same time my aunt, uncle, a cousin and my mother were vacationing there. On that trip in 2000 we took the drive through Cade’s Cove – a must visit if you’re in the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. On that day all those years ago we drove through Cade’s Cove at sunrise on a cold, crisp fall morning. This was my first trip back to the Smoky Mountains since that time and our most recent visit to Cade’s Cove sparked a flood of memories from the one and only time my mother and I vacationed together.

I recall pulling over to the side of the narrow, winding road and getting out of the car where with cold weather biting at our face my mother and I stood arm in arm overlooking a beautiful sunrise panorama of the valley and mountains before us. With cups of hot, steaming coffee in hand she and I stood together taking in the vista. My mother found such moments to be appreciated for their rarity and it worked well as those few moments standing with her that morning remain to this day forever burned into my mind.

On my most recent visit I tried to remember where that spot was that we’d stood together for those few precious moments nearly a decade before. To the best of my recollection it was right about where this picture was taken. I stood with my wife and three children at this spot for a few moments as they took in the surroundings. I, however, had thoughts of long ago and a dear person long gone on my mind at that moment. I’ll visit the Great Smoky Mountains National Park again one day and I’ll again ride through Cade’s Cove and there is little doubt this particular spot will always bring back a fond and cherished memory of a beautiful moment long, long ago.

Sometimes memories hurt but this time the memory was a soothing salve on a wound yet unhealed.

~ by rfoxx on July 15, 2009.

2 Responses to “Cade’s Cove Memories”

  1. The photos trusted to the memory are those taken by our own personal builtin lenses. Perhaps they are meant to heal the sad times and accentuate the happy times. I’ve had several experiences such as that you described here.

  2. Oh, such memories.. I well remember the time we were all there and the fun we had.. beautiful picture..
    Love ya/ Auntie

Leave a Reply

 
