Happy 4th, Sad 4th

Image of the Day – Saturday, July 4, 2009

My sister, Rhonda Kay and my mom, Linda Gayle

My sister, Rhonda Kay and my mom, Linda Gayle

Happy Fourth of July, 2009! I love the 4th of July holiday as it’s easily my favorite of the holidays. I know that sounds a bit strange but think about Independence Day; it’s the only summer holiday (Memorial Day and Labor Day tend to mark the beginning and end of “summer”), there’s BBQ, beer, swimming, fireworks and red, white and blue … not to mention all the young women in skimpy clothes!

Though it’s my favorite holiday the day usually starts a bit sad and reflective for me. My sister, Rhonda Kay, was born on the Fourth of July, 1962 and would have been 47 years old today. Sadly, my little sister died in 1976 at the age of 13 so to imagine her in her late forties is difficult to wrap my mind around and I don’t even try to imagine what she’d be like at a certain age any longer.

All I know is it’s my sister’s birthday and I’ll do my best to remember her and those I’ve lost before today on this day of fun and celebration and not think about what’s missing but remember all they gave me and that without each of them in my life I would have been a different person than I am today.

This is my mom and sister around Christmas, 1975 which would be my sister’s last Christmas.

Sister – I miss you and hope to see you again someday but mostly thanks for the brief time we had together – I’ll never forget that time.

~ by rfoxx on July 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
