Inked!

Image of the Day – Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Tony Gets His First Ink

Tony Gets His First Ink

My half-brother, Tony, somehow made it into his mid-40s before he received his first tattoo and today’s image is of that event.

It started innocently enough a few weeks before when my son Brandon and I were in New Orleans together and on a whim we decided to get tattoos together. We chose to get a fleur-de-lis on the inside of our upper right arms. After the tattoos had fully healed I was in the company of my brother and a first cousin (David) and showed them my tattoo and when and how it came to be permanently inked into my skin. Immediately the both wanted the same tattoo in the same place on their body.

Within minutes we were out the door and down the highway to the closest tattoo parlor where Tony and David both got their first tattoos and that’s where today’s image originates.

The picture was taken with a Pentax point and shoot camera and the strong green of the flourescent lights in the tattoo parlor are evident. In the background are my wife, Lys, and daughter, Brandi, playing the part of mere observers to this night’s foolishness.

Below is another picture taken that night after we’d called Brandon and informed him that Tony and David had been inked just like he and I and all of us showing off our brand new ink!

Showing Off Our New Ink

Showing Off Our New Ink

~ by rfoxx on June 9, 2009.

2 Responses to “Inked!”

  1. I love this picture. You look weird in Indiana colors. Lol.

  2. I can’t believe I got photographed in a shirt for a Big 10 team. Least I could have done was have on a Pitt or UConn shirt that day…

Leave a Reply

 
