Storming the Beach

Image of the Day – Saturday, June 6, 2009

Myself and my brother on the beach at Grand Isle circa 1974

Myself and my brother on the beach at Grand Isle circa 1974


On June 6, 1944 Allied forces stormed the beaches of Normandy and began the assault on Hitler’s “Fortress Europe”. Obviously I wasn’t involved in the D-Day invasion back in ’44 but I would like to say, “Thank you” to the men who did put their life on the line for America all those years ago.

Since it’s the anniversary of the invasion of Normandy I decided to make one of the few beach pictures I have today’s image of the day. This image was taken on the shoreline in Grand Isle, Louisiana in about 1974. That’s my brother there with me and we would have been about sixteen and fifteen years old at that time. Note the really cool 70s hair styles and the sleek cassette tape player and homemade cassettes for our listening pleasure. I’ll be darned if it also doesn’t look like my brother was sporting a six-pack!

Our family spent a few days together in Grand Isle that summer and we all stayed together in a rented cabin. There was lots of swimming and fishing to be had and the rest of the time was spent enjoying a summer day in a sleepy fishing village, as Grand Isle doesn’t amount to much more than that. It was from this trip I saw the worst case of sunburn I’ve ever seen when my sister, Rhonda Kay, got so burned her back was covered in large blisters. She was a very fair-skinned youngster and the sun really took its toll on her. I felt so bad for her and how she was so miserable until the sunburn healed.

As I recall those on this trip were two of my grandparents, my parents and my brother and sister. Sadly, the two of us in today’s picture are the only two of that group that survives today.

Because this is another scan of an old picture there was some color correction and as usual a bit of noise reduction as well as burning in the washed out sky which did little good. The details of the sky are lost forever in this image.

~ by rfoxx on June 6, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
