Taking a Rest on the Trail

Image of the Day – Thursday, June 4, 2009

Me in the Great Smoky Mountains, 1988

Me in the Great Smoky Mountains, 1988


This is a self-portrait taken in October, 1988 while on my first visit to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. My first visit to the Smoky Mountains was cut short by bad weather and what started as seven days of camping was whittled down to four. However, the few days I spent camping in the Smoky Mountains started a love affair with those mountains that continues to this day. I’ve re-visited the Great Smokys four times since and as recently as this past April.

This image was the basic kind of self-portrait – put the camera on a tripod, set the timer and hustle into place and strike a pose. A Canon AE-1 film SLR was my main camera at that time and the one I had on the trip this picture was taken.

This image was shot along a trail near the Oconoluftee River near the Smokemont campground on the North Carolina side of the national park. The only enhancements made to this image were a few color and contrast adjustments and a light application of noise reduction.

The Great Smoky Mountains National Park remains one of my favorite places to visit and I look forward to my next trip whenever it may be with great eagerness.

~ by rfoxx on June 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
