Jackson Square @ Sunset

Image of the Day – Monday, June 1, 2009

Jackson Square Just After Sunset

Jackson Square Just After Sunset

Jackson Square in New Orleans. I don’t believe I’ve ever made a jaunt into the French Quarter without passing through, passing by or passing within eyeshot of the square. This Saturday past was my birthday and my wife and I took a ride down to New Orleans for a bite to eat and found ourselves in the area during the “golden hour” just after sunset so we walked to the levee and with the Mississippi River at my back I shot this image of Jackson Square.

For a second consecutive day I’m posting an image that comes to you unenhanced and in this case just as it was shot not just as it was scanned! This was a nice learning curve image in that it was taken using a 30-second exposure at f14 and ISO 200. This is a drastically scaled down version of the actual image and was only shrunk to make it easier not only for me to upload but also for your browser to download. The lesson I learned? The rumors about heavy noise with long exposures shot with digital cameras are true. I found dozens of very odd looking “specks” of color in the image once I zoomed the original to about 300%. At this ratio you see here none of that appears in the image. The original will look much better after a bit of noise reduction.

I do like this shot, however, and a few others similar to this one I also shot using different zoom levels and with a few tweeks to the composition and I’ll enjoy passing them through Photoshop a time or two.

~ by rfoxx on June 1, 2009.

One Response to “Jackson Square @ Sunset”

  1. Beautiful shot…regards Ron, Husac.

Leave a Reply

 
